Board of Directors & Staff

Residents within the Santa Maria Public Airport District elect a five-member Board of Directors on a District-wide basis. Each member serves a four-year term. Responsibility for day-to-day operations are entrusted to the General Manager and supporting staff.



** Click here for most current meeting.
SMX Board of Directors
Director Board Position Phone
Hugh Rafferty President (805) 937-9334
Chuck Adams Vice President (805) 680-1102
Carl Engel Jr. Secretary (805) 925-2771
Steve Brown Vice Secretary (805) 773-2640
David Baskett Director (805) 925-0999


SMX Staff
Chris Hastert General Manager
Veroneka Reade Manager of Finance and Administration
Kerry Fenton Administrative Assistant
Bill Noble Maintenance Foreman
Ric Tokoph Maintenance and Operations Manager
Joshua M. George District Counsel
Natalie Frye Laacke Assistant District Counsel